Work Permits

Shirley Cosmos, Chief Records Clerk
Main Phone: (775) 328-3017

Permit Section Hours:
Monday – Tuesday – Thursday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Applicants for all permits or registration must present one of the following types of personal identification at the time of application:

  • Valid driver's license
  • State-issued identification card

NOTE: The following information is required at the time you apply for your work permit:

  • Your full name and any aliases you have ever used including maiden names.
  • ANY AND ALL arrests, even if the charges were dismissed or not brought to court. Failure to disclose any arrests may disqualify you from obtaining a work permit. You must provide the dates of arrest, the offenses you were charged with, the degree of offense (felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, traffic), the agency which arrested you, the location of the arrest, and the dispositions of the charge (fine, jail, alcohol school, probation, dismissal, etc.).

CHILD CARE WORK PERMITS

Child care work permits are regulated by Washoe County Social Services regulations, Washoe County Code Chapter 45.300 through 45.385 inclusive, and Nevada Revised Statutes. The purpose of the work card is to document and investigate all employees and owners/operators of child care facilities pursuant to the applicable statutes.

Requirements for those applying for child care permits:

  1. All applicants who are owner/operator of a facility must bring with them a signed "hire slip" from Washoe County Social Services. Applicants who are being employed by a facility as a caregiver, must bring with them a signed “hire slip” from the head of the employing facility.
  2. All applicants are required to complete an application packet which includes a form that allows the Sheriff's Office to disseminate any convictions you may have to your employer and Washoe County Social Services.
  3. The cost is $75.00 for a new or renewal of an existing work permit. 
  4. The cost is $35.00 for a replacement card.
  5. Fingerprints will be taken at time of application for both a state-wide and a national records check. Fingerprints are mandatory when first applying for a child care work permit and every five years thereafter.  Fingerprints will not be submitted for juveniles under the age of 18. 
  6. Your photo must be taken for the work permit.

The following criminal arrests/convictions will disqualify a person from obtaining a Child Care Work Permit. Other arrests/convictions may be disqualifying:

  1. Failure to disclose, mislead, or misstate any material on application.
  2. Conviction of any crime against children.
  3. Conviction of any felony or gross misdemeanor.
  4. Conviction of any sexual offense.
  5. Conviction involving the use of a controlled substance.
  6. Conviction of arson.
  7. Any conviction of Chapter 200, 201, and/or 202 in the Nevada Revised Statutes.

Convictions of misdemeanor offenses within five years dealing with violence (assault, battery) or drugs will be reviewed by Washoe County Social Services for determination if a permit will be issued.

LIQUOR WORK PERMITS

Liquor work permits are regulated by Washoe County Code Chapter 30.

  1. All applicants must have a "hire slip" signed by the employer.
  2. All applicants are required to complete an application packet which includes a form that allows the Sheriff's Office to disseminate any convictions you may have to your employer.
  3. The cost is $75.00 for a new or a renewal Liquor work permit. 
  4. Fingerprints will be taken at time of application for both a state-wide and a national records check. Fingerprints must be retaken every five years.
  5. Applicants are required to have a photograph taken for their permanent work permit card.

Liquor work permits are issued for a period of five years. Convictions of numerous Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol-related offenses may disqualify you from obtaining a work permit.

LOCKSMITH WORK PERMITS

Locksmith permits are regulated by Nevada Revised Statute 655.070 and Washoe County Code Chapter 25.

  1. All applicants must have a "hire slip" signed by the employer. Owners must present a current Washoe County business license.
  2. All applicants are required to complete an application packet which includes a form that allows the Sheriff's Office to disseminate any convictions you may have to your employer.
  3. The cost is $75.00 for a new or renewal Locksmith work permit. 
  4. Locksmith work permits require fingerprints be taken for both a state-wide and a national records check. Locksmith work permits are issued for a period of five years.

MASSAGE TECHNICIAN/THERAPIST WORK PERMITS

Massage technician/therapist work permits are regulated by Washoe County Code Chapter 25.

  1. Massage Technician/Therapist permits are processed through the Business License Division at the Washoe County Complex at 1001 East Ninth Street , Reno, NV.
  2. Massage technician/therapist work permits require two sets of fingerprints be taken.
  3. The Sheriff's Office is required to provide a complete criminal history background to the Business License Division for all Massage Technician/Therapist permits.
  4. The cost is $75.00 for this service. 

Massage technician/therapist work permits are issued for a period of one year and must be renewed through the Business License Division.

PEDDLER AND SOLICITOR WORK PERMITS

Peddler and solicitor work permits are regulated by Washoe County Code Chapter 25. Prior to coming to the Sheriff's Office for a permit, all solicitors and peddlers must be approved at the Business License Division located at 1001 E. 9th Street in Reno.

  1. The cost is $75.00 for a Peddler or a solicitor work permit. 
  2. Fingerprints will be taken at time of application for both a state-wide and a national records check. Fingerprints must be retaken every five years
  3. A photo will be taken for a permanent work permit card.

Solicitor and Peddler permits are valid for a period not to exceed 5 years.

PRIVATE SECURITY WORK PERMITS

As of January 1, 2010 the Private Investigators Licensing Board will be taking over the Private Security Work Permits state wide. You can contact their office at 775-687-3223.

MEDICAL MARIJUANA WORK PERMITS

       Click Here For Application
 

This is a special alert indicator

There are no active alerts. If this was an actual alert, this area would be red and would contain important information to keep you and your family safe.

Alerts & Updates