Sex Offender/Crimes Against Children Registration
Shirley Cosmos, Chief Records Clerk
Main Phone: (775) 328-3017
Permit Section Hours:
Monday - Tuesday - Thursday - Friday
Registrants must present one of the following types of personal identification is necessary in order to register:
- Valid driver's license
- State-issued identification card
- Current U.S. issued passport
SEX OFFENDER/CRIMES AGAINST CHILDREN REGISTRATION
Under Nevada Revised Statute 179D, a convicted person who remains in the Washoe County Sheriff's Office jurisdiction for a period of more than 48 hours is required to register with the Sheriff's Office. A convicted person, except a nonresident, who is required to register under NRS 179D must register any change of address within 48 hours of changing the address.
NRS 179D.230 Registration after conviction; duties and procedure; offender informed of duty to register; effect of failure to inform; duties and procedure upon receipt of notification from another jurisdiction or FBI.
If a registrant is traveling outside of the United States the registrant is required to notify the local law enforcement agency of their residence jurisdiction of the intended travel at least 21 days in advance.
A person that has registered with the Nevada Sex Offender/Crimes against Children Registry as required by NRS 179D.350 thru 179D.550 inclusive is required to verify the information contained in their registration, submit a current photograph, and have fingerprints taken every year (or every 90 days if declared a sexually violent predator).
This information must be submitted to the State of Nevada, by the registrant within 10 days of receipt of the annual notice from the State of Nevada.
Registrants may obtain fingerprints and a black/white photograph for a charge of $20.00.. It is the responsibility of the registrant to submit these to the State of Nevada Sex Offender/Crimes Against Children Registry. For more information, refer to: www.nvsexoffenders.gov and click on Registration Information.
The NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) is another great resource for the public.
When required to register at the local level with Washoe County Sheriff’s Office, there will be no cost.