Convicted Persons Registrations
Shirley Cosmos, Chief Records Clerk
Main Phone: (775) 328-3017
Permit Section Hours:
Monday - Tuesday - Thursday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Registrants must bring one of the following types of personal identification at time of registration:
Valid driver's license
State-issued identification card
Current U.S. issued passport
Under Nevada Revised Statute 179C, a convicted person who remains in the Washoe County Sheriff's Office jurisdiction for a period of more than 48 hours is required to register with the Sheriff's Office. A convicted person, except a nonresident, who is required to register under NRS 179C must register any change of address within 48 hours of changing the address. Under NRS 179C, "convicted person" is defined as:
(a) A person convicted in the State of Nevada or convicted in any place other than the State of Nevada of two or more offenses punishable as felonies.
(b) A person convicted in the State of Nevada of an offense punishable as a category A felony.
(c) A person convicted in the State of Nevada or convicted in any place other than the State of Nevada of a crime that would constitute a category A felony if committed in this state after July 1, 2003 .
For the purposes of this chapter, “convicted person” does not include:
(a) A person who has been convicted of a crime against a child, as defined in NRS 179D.210, or a sexual offense, as defined in NRS 179D.410; or
(b) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, a person whose conviction is or has been set aside in the manner provided by law.