MEDAL OF HONOR: Is the Sheriff's highest award for members who distinguish themselves by heroism under exigent or life-threatening conditions, and consciously perform acts of bravery or outstanding feats while facing imminent danger without detriment to their mission.

MEDAL OF VALOR: Is awarded to members who distinguish themselves by acts of heroism performed at personal risk of life or limb. These acts shall demonstrate great courage while facing extreme danger, but to a lesser degree than required for the Medal of Honor.

BRONZE STAR: Is awarded to members who distinguish themselves in a duty of great responsibility wherein extraordinary efforts were used and personal risk was involved, but to a lesser degree than required for the Medal of Honor or the Medal of Valor.

MERITORIOUS SERVICE MEDAL: Awarded to members of this Office who, while acting in an official capacity, perform superior accomplishments that result in significant contributions to the efficient operation of the Office and/or the good of the community.

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE MEDAL: Is awarded to members who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in assigned duties with loyalty and dedication over a prolonged period.

SHERIFF'S STAR: At the discretion of the Sheriff is awarded to WCSO members or those outside the agency who, by their actions, have demonstrated conduct that is clearly beyond normal expectations.

SHERIFF'S CITATION: Awarded to any group of two or more employees who collectively engage in a program or operation that exemplifies an extraordinary quality or service.

PURPLE HEART: Is awarded to members who, while acting in an official capacity, sustain serious injuries from a dangerous or deadly weapon.

LIFESAVING MEDAL: Is awarded to members who act to save or preserve a life, or lives, that would otherwise have expired without the direct actions taken by that member.

VINCENT SWINNEY AWARD: awarded to those who, by their actions, have provided the Washoe County Sheriff's Search and Rescue program with exemplary service through leadership, volunteer service, and/or introduced programs and techniques to Search and Rescue that significantly contribute to the statutory mandate of the Sheriff to preserve life and property, all of which is clearly beyond normal expectations.

Washoe County Sheriff's Office Medal Awards Ceremony



May 29, 2013

Washoe County Commission Chambers 1001 E. 9th Street, Building A Reno, Nevada 89512

Program



Washoe County Sheriff's Office Honor Guard

National Anthem
Lieutenant Adam Hopkins

InvocationChaplain John Smith

Introduction of Assistant Sheriff Marshall
Emerson, Assistant Sheriff Tim Kuzanek, Assistant
Sheriff Darin Balaam
Undersheriff Todd Vinger

Amanda Sanchez
KOLO News Channel 8

Opening Remarks
Undersheriff Todd Vinger

Awards Presentations
Undersheriff Todd Vinger



Award Recipients

Letters of Commendation

Sheriff Support Spec. Eric Smith Sergeant Peggy Stahl **Deputy Larry Lodge (2)** Sergeant Ralph Caldwell **Deputy Robert Brunsvold Deputy Larry Cooper (2) Deputy Jereme Wormington Deputy Jon Weber (2) Deputy Wade Dougherty Deputy Danny Arias Deputy Brian Harris Deputy Shatawna Miller Deputy Ziggy Terelak Deputy Nick Sanford Sergeant Scott Bloom Lieutenant Jeff Clark Sergeant Jackson Buell Auxiliary Deputy Robert Gurnea**

Deputy Doug Russell (2)
Sergeant Todd Hill
Deputy Jacob Jensen
Deputy Brandon Zirkle
Deputy Ron Encinas
Deputy Mike O'Brien
Sergeant Morgan Jaeck
RPD Officer Pete Rinaldo
Auxiliary Deputy Bill Macaulay

Susan Holshauser - Clear Channel

Vincent Swinney Award

Auxiliary Deputy Chuck Monson Auxiliary Deputy Ed Burgess Auxiliary Deputy Charles Morton Sergeant Ralph Caldwell

Lifesaving Medal

Deputy Tim Dahlen

Deputy Ross Taylor

Deputy Steve DeCarli

Deputy James Riggs

Gerlach Volunteer Fire Chief Willard Gooch

Gerlach Volunteer Firefighter Jon Farnsworth

Deputy John Yandall

Deputy Ross Taylor

Deputy John Yandall

Nurse Rebecca Perdue

Sheriff's Star

Deputy Laura Thomsen Deputy Miguel Diaz Sergeant Morgan Jaeck Andres Gonzales

Distinguished Service Medal

Deputy Janit Bailey Sergeant Phil Condon

Meritorious Service Medal

Deputy Amelia Galicia Lieutenant Jeff Clark

Medal of Valor

Deputy Joshua Fisher Deputy Jacob Jensen